We drove 27 hours south to El Paso this past weekend to visit Rico’s grandmother (and then 30 hrs back through California).  I’m happy to say we survived the drive without killing each other!  When we were leaving Oregon, we caught this:

On the way down, we stopped at Arches National Park in Utah.  I rented a 12-24mm wide angle lens and what a beauty it was.  It’s the reason I was able to make the sky look so big! It’s definitely on my dream lens list!

See that little hole in the rock below… I hiked up and climbed through that…

To get this shot!

And this one!

If you look closely – you can see where I had to climb to get these shots!  But it was so worth it!

El Paso was a balmy 85 degrees with not a cloud in the sky the entire time we were there.  Lovely!  I met Rico’s grandmother, Theresia for the first time 🙂

I love her smile in this one!

We were able to get a little tourist action in while we were there.  These are pictures from the Mission Trail:

Ysleta Mission

Socorro Mission

San Elizario Mission

On the way out of town, we stopped by his grandmothers old house, where Rico used to spend most of his summers when he was younger.

See what I mean about the cloudless blue skies??

Overall, a great trip but I am so happy to be out of the car! Now it’s time to catch up on our DVR shows since we’re up to 81% space filled ::yikes::

